Spartan

Standard

Masks Off

We’re less than a week away from Halloween! If you had to design a costume that channeled your true, innermost self, what would that costume look like? Would you dare to wear it?

I view this post in retrospect because last year I actually did create a costume that channeled my “true, Innermost self” and I was planning on wearing it, had it not been for unexpected circumstances. The costume was made mostly of cardboard, spray paint, thumb tacks, duct tape, glue, and a belt. A red throw was used as a cape and a bandana was used as a plume. The costume was that of a Spartan. It exemplified a Spartan way of living. I had only spent $6 on the entire costume after all. However, this true, inner most self which is a Spartan alludes to much more than just that. It alludes to my interests in join the nation guard. It alludes to the fact that I would do anything to protect my family, friends, and my home town. It means that I have the ingenuity and the strength to be a warrior, and that is the true me; Unrelenting, unwavering against the hardships of life.

Leave a Reply

